Viewing your Group Record
To view the Group Record for your Group, click on the Group name in the Groups List (see 5.1 Groups List), or elsewhere where Group names are shown. Groups for which you are a Leader or for which you have editing rights are highlighted blue.
Each Group Record comprises four sub-pages:
-
Details see below
-
Schedule see 5.3 Group Record: Schedule
-
Members see 5.4 Group Record: Members
- Ledger see 5.5 Group Record: Ledger
You can select between these on the row beneath the Group Record title. The active sub-page has its name in black.
Note: The things that you can view and the operations that you can perform may differ from those described below, according to the System Access and Privileges allocated to your Role by your u3a Committee.
Editing your Group Details
The Group Details page holds basic information about the Group, including Faculty (optional) and Status (Active or Inactive).
Some of the details on this page are used to:
- Populate fields when Events are created on the Group Schedule page (see 5.3 Group Record: Schedule)
- Will display in the Groups List (see 5.1 Groups List)
- Will display in the Calendar (see 5.9 The Calendar).
Hover the cursor over a field to display details about what to enter in the field. Also refer to the guidance below:
- The Group Name is best kept simple without apostrophes, ampersands or other symbols.
- The When field is free text and used only to give general information about when the Group meets, e.g. “2nd Thursday at 2:00pm”, or “Every Wednesday at 10:00” or “Once a month at a local pub”. The contents of this field are displayed in the Groups Lists on the Public Groups webpage (see 9.4 Public Links) and the Members Portal (see 10.2 Members Portal).
- The Start time, End time and Venue are optional and are used as defaults when Events are created.
- The Enquiries field can be used to give a person's name, phone number for enquirers to make contact, e.g. Be aware that this information may be visible to u3a members or the public, depending on how the Public Links are configured so it is recommended that private email addresses are not shown (see 9.4 Public Links).
- Max members can be used if there is a limit on the number of members that the Group can accommodate. When the limit is reached, members may still be added via the Group’s Members page and are shown with a “waiting since” (see 5.10 Dealing with a Waiting List).
- Ticking Allow members to join/leave online lets members join/leave the Group (or waiting list, if enabled) via the Members Portal. Members are not able to join a full Group via the Members Portal.
- Ticking Enable waiting list lets members join a waiting list via the Members Portal if the Max members figure has been reached. Even if the box is not ticked and a maximum group number has been reached, members may still be added to the waiting list via the Group’s Members page.
- If Notify Leader is ticked the Group Leader will be notified by email when a member joins or leaves the Group or the waiting list.
- Ticking Display waiting list by default means that any members on the waiting list are displayed when viewing the the Group Members page. Such members may be be hidden by unticking Show waiting members on the Group Members page (see 5.4 Group Record: Members).
- When populating the Information field, be aware that this information may be visible to u3a members or the public, depending on how your u3a’s Public Links are configured (see 9.4 Public Links).
- The Notes field is for private notes that are not displayed the public.
After editing any of the details press the Save Record button.
Show Addresses
A temporary change introduced in February 2026 was to add a Show Addresses tick box:
When ticked Group Leaders can see the addresses of members of the group.
This tick box will be removed in the future. It has been replaced by a Site Administrator being able to set this from the Groups List 5.1.
Revision History
v1 |
2021-04-04 |
Graeme Bunting |
First version |
v2 |
2024-11-15 |
John Alexander |
Add more detail on Group Naming and update image for Leave Group Online |
v3 |
2025-04-30 |
Pete Edmondson |
Screenshot of Group Details updated to show Contacts field name changed to Enquiries |
v4 |
2025-05-28 |
Graeme Bunting |
Updated image and description including new tick box 'Display waiting list by default' |
v5 |
2026-02-05 |
Graeme Bunting | Images and Links updated |
v6 |
2026-02-20 |
John Alexander | Add comment re new Detail screen items |
v7 |
2026-02-26 |
Graeme Bunting | Show Addresses section added. Minor changes to text. |
Comments
0 comments
Please sign in to leave a comment.