Depending on your u3a's configuration, the Beacon Member's Portal offers members a number of services including joining Groups, your personal calendar, updating personal information, managing your membership card photo and renewing membership.
Currently logging on requires the user to enter five pieces of information. This includes the membership number that many u3as don't require their members to know.
From the 18th April, the Member's Portal login is being simplified so that members can login with their email address as their username, and a password of their choosing.
To transition current and future new members then on first use they will be invited to login as before (5 pieces of information) in order to create a password.
The Membership Secretary will not be able to see or reset your password, but they can update your email address.
There are a number of other features:
- On first use, and whenever the member changes their email address, they will be asked to verify it by responding to a link they will be emailed.
- Forgotten passwords can be reset through an email link without the need for a secret question and answer.
- Email addresses can be shared. To avoid confusion, verification and password reset emails will include the first name of the member.
- In the case when both an email and portal password is shared the member will be able to resolve the ambiguity by selecting who they are.
Note that there is no change to the way System users (Membership Secretary, Group leaders etc.) login.
u3as that have enabled the portal will need to warn members in advance so they will be aware of the steps they need to take.
Full documentation will appear in the User Guide by the end of March.